News Report



The Eighth Nagamori Awards Ceremony was Held Successfully

Nagamori Foundation held the Eighth Nagamori Awards Ceremony on Sunday, September 4, 2022 to honor the winners of the awards and the recipients of the research grant for 2022.

Continuing from the last event, the ceremony was held at Miyako Hall of Nidec Corporation Annex Global Learning Center as the main venue, having the winners and the research grant recipients attending remotely and was streamed live via Web to approximately 200 people including many academics, and those related to Nagamori Foundation.



The winners of the Eighth Nagamori Awards pose for photo with Mr. Nagamori, President of Nagamori Foundation.

After the presentations by the six award winners

followed by the review from the members of Nagamori Foundation's Review Committee, Dr. Gianmario Pellegrino, Full Professor, Department of Energy "Galileo Ferraris", Politecnico di Torino was chosen as the Grand Nagamori Award winner.

The ceremony began with Prof. Hori, the Review Committee's Chair, explaining how the winners were selected, followed by the announcement of the Eighth Grand Nagamori Award Winner. Each winner received a commendation certificate and a prize trophy from Mr. Nagamori, President of Nagamori Foundation, and then representing the award winners, Professor Pellegrino delivered a speech to express the pleasure of receiving the Award.



"Research Grant 2022" recipients

The next part of the ceremony was to present research grants ("Research Grant 2022") to the 29 young researchers, mostly associate or assistant professors (10 new and 19 renewal recipients).

Dr. Kyohei Kiyota, Associate Professor of Tokyo Institute of Technology, gave a speech to appreciate the grant on behalf of all the grant recipients.

Mr. YANAGI Takashi, Vice Minister of Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology – Japan, appeared remotely and gave a congratulatory address. The ceremony ended in great success.

Please send inquiries about the above article to:

Nagamori Foundation Secretariat

Tel: +81-75-935-7731

E-mail: n.awards@nidec.com

Eighth Nagamori Award Winners (2022)

■ The Grand Nagamori Award (2022)

Name	Position / Affiliation	Title
Glanmario		Synchronous and PM-synchronous reluctance motor drives - theory, design, and control methods

■ Nagamori Award Winners (2022)

Name	Position / Affiliation	Title
Huijun Gao	Professor and Director, Research Institute of Intelligent Control and Systems, Harbin Institute of Technology	For contributions to the advanced control for mechatronic systems
Yunwei Ryan Li	Professor and Acting Department Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Alberta	For contribution to the PWM, control and converter topology of medium voltage high power industrial drives
Burak Ozpineci	Section Head, Vehicle and Mobility Systems Research Section, Building and Transportation Science Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory	Low cost, high efficiency, compact electric motor drives for more electrified transportation systems
Maryam Saeedifard	Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology	For contributions to highly-efficient, power-dense and fault-tolerant multilevel converter-based medium-voltage drives
Akio Yamamoto	Professor, Department of Human and Engineered Environmental Studies, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences, The University of Tokyo	Pioneering Research and Development on Theoretical Models and Applied Systems for Electrostatic Film Actuators

